Putting up timber fencing -how?

kcat

Well, We've just an overlapy 6x6 timber fencing and timber posts from O'Kellys. We had arranged some people to put the fencing up but they cant make it now so we've decided to give it a go ourselves. Neither of us are very DIY orientated but nor are we afraid of hard or dirty work.

So, i guess my question is what exactly do we need to do in terms of:
1. do the timber stakes need to sunk into cement or is sinking about 2ft into soil enough?
2. How do we attach the fencing to the posts? is it nailed through to it?
3. Any other major things that i'm not thinking off??????

total novice!

Re: Putting up timber fencing -how???

rent a petrol post hole augur from your local hire shop.
posts should be 1/3 in teh ground, 2/3 above
dry mix cement/hardcore works well ramped up slightly on the post.
You can clip the panels to the inside face of post or put battens on front and back of inside face. Clips work well.

Good way is to make up a 6x6 frame from 2x1 and this weekend use that to place your posts moving from one to the next. This way you won't upset the already fixed posts. Pull string between first and end point for straight line. Don't worry about post height as you can cut it off when the actual panels are placed.

Fit your panels next weekend after posts have set.

Good device you could pick up is a book like spirit level which gives you a four way reading when placing posts.

thanks davidoco,

alot of information there....just a few questions.
1. what are the clips exactly?
2. 'dry mix cement/hardcore works well ramped up slightly on the post.'' -dont understand what you mean here?
3. Dont get this either...''Good way is to make up a 6x6 frame from 2x1 and this weekend use that to place your posts moving from one to the next. This way you won't upset the already fixed post''

wasnt lying when i said total novice!

ramped up slightly on the post