Public and Private Pension

bill_cash

Hi guys,

Maybe this a stupid question but I've recently been offered a job in the PS and am a little confused.

I currently have a private pension and in conjunction with my employer contribute 20% per anum (the max tax free for my age).

My new job will be pensionable (I've never worked in the ps before so will be a new entrant) and I will have to pay the pension levy.

Is it possible for me to put 20% of my gross income tax free into a private pension and also pay into the public sector pension?

Thanks,
B

Last edited:
You can contribute to the PS pension, and then possibly do AVCs.

I'm not sure about AVCs with the new Single PS pension, but they may be possible.

Look up the Single PS pension scheme.

Others here may have better answers.

Also, note that all public servants (except civil servants), pay regular pension conts 6.5%, and then they pay the PRD on income over 32k approx.

You can do AVCs if you are in the Single Scheme. What you pay towards your Single Scheme pension has to be deducted from your total age-related contribution limit. So of you are aged 30-39 the Revenue contribution limit is 20%. Once you allow for how much you are paying towards the Single Scheme pension you can do AVCs up to this limit (which increases as you get older).

They have also introduced a new arragement lately whereby you can transfer in benefits from certain private sector schemes into the Single Scheme. It seems quite complex and I am not sure if it is worth it - unless you are concerned about the future viability of the private sector pension :https://singlepensionscheme.gov.ie/...-the-Single-Public-Service-Pension-Scheme.pdf

Thanks Early Riser, that is good to know.

Does this look correct:
Say I earn 72K

ASC:
0-32K = 0% = €0
32k-60k = 10% = €2800
60k-72k = 10.5% = €1260

Total ASC = €4060.

So as a % of total income €4060/€72000 = 5.6% for ASC