PRSA - reactivating

MichaelDonal

I'm extremely confused by something that should be really straightforward. Two years ago I moved from being a permanent employee to being a contractor, this also entailed a move of job. Previously when I started a new job I simply handed my new employer my PRSA details and said please use that and pay X amount per month.

As I'm now a contractor I operate under an umbrella company and pay a company to take care of my taxes, PRSI etc. This was all working out fine until I asked them to start paying into my PRSA (forgive my lack of understanding of knowledge of the correct terms here, I've a basic understanding of how this all works). They said they don't do that but recommended me a company that would - I was confused because I didn't think there was anything to 'do' - just put X amount into this PRSA and job done, right? But they sent on details of another company and I started down the road of talking to them - they convinced me my PRSA was probably under performing and I should go with them but I got a little put off by their instance that I sign over to them to take care of it. I just wanted to get my old one working again.

So I contacted Irish Life (who my PRSA was with originally) and about 3 weeks later they came back saying they'd no idea who I was. We ironed that out and the end result was they sent me details on re-setting up a PRSA but I just wanted to continue paying into my old one!

Time passed and every now and then I'd get annoyed and try to sort this out but to no avail - a couple of weeks ago I wrote to Irish Life again but haven't had a reply (their email response time is hilariously bad) .