Potterton Suprima 50L Gas Boiler

ree

Can anyone give me some information on the Potterton suprima 50L gas boiler. I had one installed yesterday and have been looking them up on the internet today only to find they get very bad reviews. knowing nothing about boilers I was trusting the plumber to install something that wouldn't be trouble, and if they have a reputation for breaking down why are plumbers installing them. Any information on this would be very welcome.

Hi ree, I too have one of these Potterton suprima boilers. I had some problems with it last winter. It was cutting out and generally acting funny. I did some internet searching about it to see if it was a common problem. I was shocked to see all the hassle associated with them!

There was even a [broken link removed]) campaign about them. Anyway my one was exhibiting the classic symptoms that others seem to complain about so I found a few online forums with a few suggestions on how to fix them.

I am NOT a DIY expert, it takes me 20 mins to change a plug. But I figured I'd give it a go - I would imagine that most people will tell you not to tinker with your gas boiler and they are probably right but this is my experience of what I did.

The Potterton forums that I looked at suggested that there was a problem with the soldering on the circuit boards of the unit. They suggested that there might be scorch marks on a faulty board - sure enough there were some on mine. The recommendation was to identify the weak connections and resolder them and then to remove any dust/dirt that might be present. The whole soldering approach was well beyond my means so I just went for the dust/dirt removal part. It did the trick. No problems since then, touch wood. However I am resigned to the prospect of it going again in the not too distant future.