Post mortems on certain deaths - why?

RMCF

I just heard on the news today that the latest gangland member (or scumbag) who was murdered was receiving a post-mortem.

Is it a stupid question to ask why?

I heard he was fired at 11 times (assuming most hit him) and was hit in the head.

Now I'm no expert but surely the cause of death would be 'bullet to head'.

Why is a post-mortem needed?

Re: Post mortem's on certain deaths - why?

I suppose it's pretty standard.
And if it ever goes to court then the report will be produced.
And if you RMCF were walking the area and got killed in the crossfire, then you'd have a post-mortum too.

I'm no expert either but they guy could have been dead before being hit in the head.
Not that it makes much difference

I appreciate that its probably all done for legal reasons, but if a guy wearing a bullet proof vest gets shot in the head I'm sure it doesn't need a post-mortem to decide he died from bullet wounds.

Ah way, end of question. Thanks.