Pop the Question \ Suprise Trip for GF to NY

djsim

Hey guys,

Could really do with your input on my travel plans. I have finally decided to take a big step and ask my long term partner to marry me. (Going to ask her dad tonight, wish my luck:) My plan is to give the tickets as a Christmas present and travel some time in January. I have never being to the States so I am a complete novice and I really want to make this trip one to remember. Havent a huge budget, so I would like to get the best value as possible, without staying at budget accommodation if possible, if you know what I mean.

Plane Tickets - I intend to fly with Continental Airlines from Shannon as they seem to be the cheapest, plus, we can clear immigration at Shannon, coming in at €730 return for 2.

Hotel - I was told I can’t go wrong staying in the Manhattan area. Any recommendations?

Engagement Ring - I plan to pick out a ring with the misses over there. I will have approx $2K to spend on one. Any recommendations on jewellery shops over there, or should I wait until point 3?

Shopping - I was told again to take a day out from sight seeing and travel to one of the two outlets in New Jersey. New Jersey gardens and Woodbridge Center - only want to go to one, which is better? Could we pick up a nice ring here, instead of a shop in New York?

Sight Seeing - If you had "3 must things to do\see", what would they be. I have a list of four already 1) Statue of liberty 2) Empire State Building. 3) Ice hockey game 4) Broadway Show

Sorry for the long post, But I want to get this right. Any help \ advice you can offer would be most grateful.

J.

HI there

I am heading to NYC next month to buy my engangement ring.
We are heading to the Diamond District, and the 2 places most recommended to us were Hanikens and Salvatores.
An important thing is to do your research on the 4 c's of a diamond, so you are not heading into a shop totally green.