Plug timer on washing machines

TarfHead

To avail of night-rate, I usually hold off switching on the washing machine or tumbler or dishwasher until midnight. Normally I'm still awake so it is not a problem. There are times when I want to get an early night and wish of a way of getting the machines to switch on at the designated time.

I have been told that it is unsafe to put such applicances on a plug timer. Not sure why but I've little knowledge of household electrics so I take such advice at face value.

Anyone here know if this is true or not ?
Does it depend on the plug timer ?

You should not put any heavy loads (anything with a high wattage and/or amperage rating - such as a heater, washing machine etc.) on a timer plug adaptor as such adaptors are normally rated for much lighter loads and can be dangerous if misused (e.g. can burn out and cause fires). This topic touches on this subject in relation to putting oil filled electric heaters on such timer units.

Hi Tarfhead,

Clubman is right in what he says about the timers. Definitely a no no. The fact that you might be in bed when the fire starts is frightening to say the least. When my washing machine went on fire (old age not timer related) luckily enuf I was standing nearby and was able to switch it off at the mains. Most electricians will advise 'not to go out' when putting on machines.

ClubMan said:
You should not put any heavy loads (anything with a high wattage and/or amperage rating - such as a heater, washing machine etc.) on a timer plug adaptor as such adaptors are normally rated for much lighter loads and can be dangerous if misused (e.g. can burn out and cause fires). This topic touches on this subject in relation to putting oil filled electric heaters on such timer units.

Surely their rating will be reflected by the fuse rating? Overloading should then blow your fuse.

Am I missing something or wouldn't 99% of these gizmos be sold for washing machine/diswasher use?