Personl investor: How to Invest in S&P500

Glenbob

Hi Guys,

I'm totally new to investment.

Usually I save €1500 P/M in a AIB Saving Acc but the interest is not great. I would now like to invest my monthly savings in the S&P500.

1. Do I need to go though a broker such as Davey or IG?
2. Can I invest in the S&P500 Direct - if so how?
3. I'm NOT looking to buy and sell quick rather this will be long term investing - is there best practice as to when is the best time to buy?
* I've looked into ETF's. Seemly I don't invest in the S&P500 rather their investment tracks the S&P stock price (I have a feeling this is the route I should take).
* I've also looked in Vanguard and tried to sign up to their site but can't because I don't have a SSN number.

Anyhow, advise would be greatly appreciated and MOST IMPORTANT how do I go about investing in the S&P500. Web links to investing in the S&P500 would be helpful.

Thank you,

Glen

Hi Glenbob,
No real problem about investing in S&P 500 , I agree with you that an ETF seems ideal, because of the low management charges , and Vanguard seem an excellent company.
You would need a Broker . I use TD Waterhouse ( [broken link removed] ) , and find them very good. They charge € 20 per buy or sell, and a quarterly charge if your stock holding with them is less than € 5000. They have no problem with buying any Vanguard ETF you may require.
I can give no advice as to best time to buy ( I wish I could !). You seem in a position to make a purchase ever month, which would average out purchase costs , and as you intend to hold long term , seems a very good method.

May I end on a note of caution, as you say you are totally new to investing.
A very basic principle of investing is to diversify in to various asset classes, such as shares, bonds, property, and cash. E.G. "not all eggs in one basket".