Pension Starter Questions

KeenToLearn

Hello,

I am starting to look into the requirement/ advantage of starting a pension. I have limited knowledge in this area and know I need to go to an independent advisor at some point before I will be in a position to make any decisions. I want to build up my knowledge on the main points first so I can make the most of the advice I receive. If you feel that this is a repeat of existing threads as there is already a lot of info on Pensions here, please feel free to remove.

My Background
Im mid-thirties, single and own my PPR, with no loans on it. I have no other loans. I have no current pension arrangements in place. I have no other investments presently but will be interested in investing in future. I have about €20K in cash and a gross income of approx. 80K. I work as a contractor under an umbrella company setup, of which I am a director. Currently no money is held in the company and I am paid monthly with all relevant taxes being deducted and paid each month. If I don’t work for a month, no invoice and my tax credits get carried over to the next month.

There is an option for me to change to a full ltd company and hold funds within the company and even out the Salary payments to myself, get a smaller amount every month and hold some money within the company. I understand there are extra tax implications on the corporation tax payment (not 12.5% as single person company) in this scenario, but for this thread, Id like to stick to creating the best scenario for building a pension.

Short Term Aims

Build up a cash reserve. For the past while, most of my income was funding my PPR so I sacrificed the savings side of things. For me, Id like to have 30K set aside as RDF which is reasonably accessible. In parallel, I want to select and implement a pension plan.

Pension Strategy Considerations
1. Im self employed at the moment but in future may take a permanent position. What impact does this have on my current Pension strategy?