PC taking 10 mins to boot up

Hurricane4

When I turn my PC on it takes over 10 mins to boot up. I tried to do a disk clean up but couldn't find it, deleted games etc I don't use. When I am on the Internet it's fast. Any suggestions please help don't know what to do now.

Thanks

Sounds so stupid - don't know what you mean , am absolute beginner

When I press Start shows all programs,games messenger, pictures etc -everything comes up waiting for me to click one. Is this what you mean?

When it starts and is running click start,run,type in"msconfig" without the commas.Click the startup tab and untick all the startup programs you don't need.When you do the restart tick the ignore box on the warning you receive and the system will start.

I suspect that the original poster really needs to get assistance from somebody with some technical expertise - the risk of exacerbating the problem when you don't know what you're doing is too high.

When I turn my PC on it takes over 10 mins to boot up. I tried to do a disk clean up but couldn't find it, deleted games etc I don't use. When I am on the Internet it's fast. Any suggestions please help don't know what to do now.

Thanks
When was the last time you defragmented your hard-drive?

I suspect that the original poster really needs to get assistance from somebody with some technical expertise - the risk of exacerbating the problem when you don't know what you're doing is too high.
Sorry ClubMan, Couldn't resist! ;)

When I turn my PC on it takes over 10 mins to boot up. I tried to do a disk clean up but couldn't find it, deleted games etc I don't use. When I am on the Internet it's fast. Any suggestions please help don't know what to do now.Thanks
Check for viruses?

Maybe the poster could let us know a few details about the type of PC they are using and how old it is? Are they currently using any anti-virus/firewall/anti-spyware program? How were the games deleted? Were they uninstalled or just deleted?