Painting - the line between wall and ceiling

millertime

I'm only a novice painter, how do I get a straight line between the white ceiling and the wall? Is there a special brush for this purpose? Very frustrating!

I wouldn't go down the masking tape route - we tried it on our lovingly painted front room and pulled off half the new paint on the ceiling.

I used a 1/2 inch (bog standard) brush to cut in at the top when we were painting the wall. I then used the same brush to touch up the ceiling paint afterward if some blobs were made (and trust me, we're novices too and we made LOADS of blobs!!!).

All I would say is that you shouldn't be too fussy either. I kept going up really close and noticing bits that weren't quite straight. When I left it for a day or two and went back and looked at a normal distance (i.e. didn't have my nose up against the wall examining it!), it all looked fine. Not perfect maybe, but absolutely grand. And NOBODY is going to be examining my walls that closely!!!

I'll probably have experts arguing with me, but that's my thoughts.

I was only thinking about this the other day. I though masking tape was the solution. I guess not.

I think the masking tape is best when trying to protect skirting board when painting a wall - don't think it would be much use to protect a ceiling as I would expect paint would peel off the ceiling when taking it off when finished

You could always try a piece of cardboard wedged in at an angle between ceiling and wall - you just slide it (carefully) along with you as you go along the wall.

ooh good idea westsider - i could see how that would work.

(And yes, it is very very annoying to have your beautiful fresh white paint peeling off the ceiling in giant clumps!!!)