Overstayed on US visa - will this affect future trips?

Deelite

Re: Immigration

Hi

I'm only new to this so I hope I'm in right location. 20 years ago I travelled to the US on a holiday visa - which I overstayed by about a year - I wan't deported or anything I just got homesick.

Now I intend to travel over on holiday to the States, but I am nervous that I will be stopped from entering because I overstayed visa.

I don't really want to contact the US Visa Department here as I don't wish to draw attention to the fact I overstayed. I hope I am explaining this right. If anybody can help - I would be very grateful...

Thanks

You may be OK but the only way to know for sure is to check in advance to avoid any nasty surprises.

As it happens my mother's passport still has the green I-94W form in her passport following a visit to the US via the land border with Canada. I presumed that this form was supposed to be collected on exit. Does the fact that she still has it suggest that she may be marked down as having never exited the US!?

If you do decide to risk it, make sure you fly out from either Dublin or Shannon. You can preclear US Immigration before you board the plane and if a problem arises at least you can turn around and go home.

If you are refused entry at a US airport you will be handcuffed and taken downtown before being deported the next day.

Clubman...same thing happened to me last week leaving los angeles.arrived home to see the little green form still in my passport.! such bother it causes!

Yes it is a problem! A big one !

If you check in advance satating you overstayed, you will be refused I would say, if you take the chance you may slip it as maybe as it was so long ago its not going to register???

A friend got a new passport using his name in Gaelic, worked for him ( pre 911 ) right now its major strict and too get caught is as polaris says wrth a night in the slammer at least.