Online trader

Dessie Duffy

I live in Cork.
I’m new to trading, buying and selling shares.
I wish to buy and sell FTSE stocks using an online trader.
Any advice, guidance or tips is much appreciated.
Thanks,
Des

Don’t, unless you want to lose money
This is not a true statement. Over a long period of time, the stock market does make you money. But for short term buying and selling, there is a higher risk of loss.
But also there are potential high gains too if you can time it right, but nobody can predict the future.
I use Degiro.

This is not a true statement. Over a long period of time, the stock market does make you money. But for short term buying and selling, there is a higher risk of loss.
But also there are potential high gains too if you can time it right, but nobody can predict the future.
I use Degiro.

Read my post again and perhaps don’t be as quick to brand something “untrue”.

The OP has no experience, and is asking about “buying and selling stocks” on a single index, the FTSE.

Your statement about the stock market making people money over a long period of time is irrelevant to the OP’s question or my reply.

As my Maths teacher always said, “RTFQ”...

FWIW I have an account with BUX Markets which you can use to trade CFDs/spreadbets. Platform is good, maybe not as feature rich as some of the bigger players, but it does the job. Spreadbetting is likely the best way to go for you as you pay no tax on gains, which means you keep more of your winnings and it removes the complexity of tax returns etc. One interesting side-benefit of the BUX platform is that they do not charge fees (beyond the spread) on positions where no leverage is used, so you can open a position in say the S&P500 and keep it open for a few years, then take any gains without having to pay CGT or other taxes - ie. it can be used to actually "invest" tax free. A bizarre loophole in our tax system.