online share dealing - question about pricing

Petal

I am trying to educate myself about investments etc. One question I have, if for example I was to open an online share dealing account with my bank, AIB that is, on their pricing page are a number of charges, some of which I don't entirely understand. I gather that when I buy I have to pay commission and stamp duty (country dependant) and again I pay commission for selling. What I don't quite understand is, for example if I bought Irish stock, would the European charges apply also, and the ancilliary charges for transfering shares out (as in out of the account, when selling?) Sorry if these are stupid questions... but if I was to buy anything I would like to calculate how much it would cost me to buy and to sell so I'd know how much I'd have to make to begin with to break even!

Hi
I am a trader in Dublin. I would suggest the following...
No need to go with AIB. Chances are they will be alot more expensive for the kind of trading you have in mind. You could simply open an account with an online broker like etrade. You will pay commission on buying and selling. You will pay stamp duty. Very cost effective..If you need any more help, just shout

Hi thanks for this, will look into it, but if I was to open an account with AIB, the European charges and ancilliary charges would apply? But these would not apply if I went with etrade?

Hi
I am a trader in Dublin. I would suggest the following...
No need to go with AIB. Chances are they will be alot more expensive for the kind of trading you have in mind. You could simply open an account with an online broker like etrade. You will pay commission on buying and selling. You will pay stamp duty. Very cost effective..If you need any more help, just shout

Hi

Is there not a pattern day trader as with the US online brokers that only allows you to trade 4 times in 5 rolling days unless you have 25,000 dollars in your account.