On Illness Benefit, Income frm apt covering mortgage. Declare tax & lose MedCard?

R

Redwood1964

Hi there

My situation is complicated so please bear with me.

I worked as a graphic designer up until 2004. Since that time I basically haven't worked due to severe bipolar disorder which I have had since 1991.

One member of my family is very wealthy and provided me with free accommodation in 1999. In 2002 I bought this apartment from my sister and have rented it out since then.

While letting this property my sister provided me with a house to live in. She is very generous and I fully appreciate this.

Recently I discovered that I needed to pay rental income tax on the apartment. I thought only those who were receiving actual income from the rent paid this. I know this was misguided but it seemed to make sense at the time. The apartment with mortgage, life assurance and management fees was only just paying for itself.

I have been on Illness Benefit (€188) since 2004.

I have a great family who have supported me financially also.

My main worry is that if I declare for tax I will lose my medical card. I have been hospitalised for nearly two and a half years of my life. The medication would be extremely expensive as well, never mind dental and doctor's fees.

I am the poorest landlord in Ireland after all of this. It is time to sell my apartment. I can't afford to keep it. Mortgage owing is €140,000. I invested €70,000 of my parents' legacy in it. Since I need to pay the rental income tax, capital gains tax, pay back my family for their support I may end up with less than nothing.

I am very lucky as I still have a roof over my head. I want to cut costs by selling the apartment by myself. Can someone tell me the best way to go about this?

Can provide any more information that is lacking if asked.

Thank you

Redwood1964