Off Plan - Buy to Sell - Is this Fools Gold?

• Thread starter BTLMillionaire
  • Start date
B

BTLMillionaire

I'm considering investing in an off-plan appt/villa in Spain (not Costa del Sol - been told it's oversold).

Various agents promising mega price increases during build (period 12-24 mths), leading to significant ROI if you sell on b4 completion. The cynic in my head keeps screaming about the commissions they are getting for selling the appts.

I'd be funding via equity release from own home.

Does anyone have any advice to offer or experience in this area. I'm new to this and want to move outside the comfort zone - without getting screwed!

My advice is to ignore everything the agent tells you. Do your own independent research.

In what areas are you looking. I've done some research into this. I suppose it depends on exactly why you are buying. Is it for the capital appreciation with a view of selling before completion, is it for a rental income into the long run, is is for the latter with some personal usage etc etc

I'm looking at Costa Almeria & Costa Calida, basically the South East which is just developing now.

I'm most interested in Buying to sell pre completion - so capital gain is the aim, I'd prefer never to be a landlord in Spain.

Hi