New Desktop

danole

Advice ,please,on the purchase of a new desktop.To do basic enough stuff......e-mailing,downloading,burning CD's/DVD's,etc.Does one have to spend a lot?How about DELL? I've been hearing they're not all they're cracked up to be.Thanks in advance!

Re: New Desktop...

I work in IT - we use DELL all the time - the do everything you want them to do - never any complaints with them through work or personally. I have bought 4 machines from them for myself and friends and i've never had any bother. And if you're looking for a straight forward machine that will do all the basic stuff you're speaking of, then 500e will cover everything you need.

Re: New Desktop...

For a total novice just looking for the very basics (e-mails, browsing, a little music - and a little above this) a fairly cheap package will certainly do.

Dell have many critics but any company who've grown like Dell have will never be able to keep all their customers happy all of the time (look at Windows, Apple [regarding the iPod] etc). I've dealt with Dell twice and was extremely happy both times.

If you feel you may need follow up support (anything from how to get it going to future upgrades or perpherials - its the problems and the follow up customer support that seems to be giving Dell the most complaints atm) it may be more comforting to go to a local supplier. For a fairly low spec machine the savings of going on-line etc would/may be very little.

Decide exactly what you want (CD burning - make sure it has a CD burner (CD-R or CD-RW), watching DVDs - make sure it has a DVD/CD-R(or RW) etc think about additional things like wireless internet or extras - can all be added later but may be easier now).
Have a look on the Dell site (www.dell.ie) and see what sort of prices your getting for the system. Compare this to some local shops to see if you think its worth the extra trouble.