Need advice on oil central heating system

Dr.Debt

Any and all help appreciated here. I have very little knowledge of central heating systems and I need to learn fast

I live in a large detached house built in c.1960, about 3200 sq ft.

We have an oil central heating system with a large conventional potterton boiler. Apparently the boiler is much larger than average and I'm told it has capacity to heat way and beyond our needs. The problem is that I'm not happy with the heat levels in the house in the middle of winter. I'm struggling to maintain heat at 20 / 21 degrees. I have looked at all the usual things, upgraded the insulation in the attic and have double glazed windows (in timber frames) throughout. It seems that the boiler is working hard all the time in the cold weather and I'm not sure why this is the case. I'm told that it is big and should have plenty of capacity.

Ive had various and different boiler technicians come and go over the past few years, all saying something different about the system so Its very difficult to know exactly who to believe. Some are saying I need to change the boiler.
Some are saying I need to change the whole system. Some are saying that the boiler is in good condition and worth keeping for the time being. Anyhow the last guy in told me that the boiler is oldish but the burner is quite new (which confirms what the previous owner told me) however he said that the new burner which was put in is too small for the boiler and that is the reason that I'm struggling to maintain the heat in cold weather. He goes on to say that the reason that the system takes so long to get up and running in the morning is that the smaller burner has to work so hard to get the water up to the required temperature and then has to work hard thereafter to keep the water at the required temperature.