music downloads

flyconn

Whoops, posted on the wrong forum, have just moved it...

I am new to the whole music download thing- I started with Limewire but then decided to go the legit route and came across a website called googlereview (is this kosher?) who recommed a website callled unlimitedmp3music.com. I had a look at it and on impulse signed up for unlimited music (through paypal account) for 2 years. Now I go to download the music but the software I have to download comes up with a security warning saying it can't be verified. So now I have the dilemma of taking a chance with the software (have a current edition of mcafee security suite but am still worried that nasties could be downloaded), or forgetting about it altogether and losing $40.

Has anyone out there come across this website? Any suggestions as to how to proceed?????

why not try www.youtube.com or www.myspace.com lots of good stuff on there and its all free

I've tried the above but need to subscribe to download. Does anyone know what I doing wrong if anything. BTW I thought any 'free' music is illegal and I don't want to subscribe to any illegal sites. Am using a Sony MP3 so I can't subscribe to iTunes. I have searched previous threads but am still in same position as Flyconn.

I am afraid u have fallen for a bit of a scam here-there are a number of sites like this promising "billions" of free downloads but all they are doing is giving u links to P2P sites that u could find youirself anyway.

Definitely sounds like a scam.
Why not try WinMX?
[broken link removed]
It is p2p but there is a legit offer if you like think it's c.$20 per year but you can also download a patch for it if you like free access u could pm me for more info.

I don't like the idea of the subscription services myself - I prefer to pay for the song once and know that I own it. Full stop. I don't fancy the site I am subscribing to going out of business and me losing the rights to all my downloaded music.