Move from Using BT Switch box to CPS

Madilla

I have been using BT for many years and recently subscribed for Talk and Broadband package.It worked fine for about a week or so(after an initial blip where although I had received a letter advising that the connection had been activated it had not in fact-took three calls and nearly three hours of holding time to resolve this). The problem I have is that when I signed up many years ago you needed an extra piece of hardware called a switchbox wired to your incoming phone point. Now I cannot make outgoing calls if I leave this box connected but I have no broadband if I disconnect it. I have been on to BT but they have told me it will take up to 10 days to resolve because of a huge volume of calls due to storms . I had originally logged the call using their fault report facility on their website but I have now had my third mail back telling me the fault has been closed. This is despite me mailing them back on each occasion to advise that my problem persists.Wondering if anyone has any suggestions.

I cannot make outgoing calls if I leave this box connected but I have no broadband if I disconnect it.

This doesn't make a lot of sense, but try replacing the dialer box with an ADSL filter -- does that allow broadband to work?

If not, how many phone connection points do you have? Where are the broadband modem, phone(s) and dialer box located, and what order are they connected in? What do your broadband modem diagnostics say when broadband doesn't work? This all sounds like a localised wiring issue you will be able to resolve yourself, and not something BT can fix remotely.