moss peat

Sarah

anyone know if Lidl sells moss peat/soil?? And if so is it any good?

I was under the impression that moss peat didn't enhance your soil, it just made it more acidic, eg. for growing heathers etc.
Aside from that, I thought from an environmental point of view, you should never buy peat moss, since it's got to come out of some bog.

So what should i use then? I was under the impression that moss peat is what you use to plant? Im new at this gardening stuff so any info would be much appriciated.I usually mix peat in with a bit of top soil...also can anyone advise can you plant Ivy in plant pots?

I thought that most of the bagged moss peat came as a by product of Bord Na Mona operations. Maybe im wrong.

So what should i use then? I was under the impression that moss peat is what you use to plant?

There are loads of alternatives nowadays, even in the likes of Woodies etc.

Most common substitute is coir, which is a by-product of the coconut industry (and has the added benefit of providing employment in third-world countries). Other alternatives include composted bark, and loam-based products.

Most peat sold for horticulture these days comes from our own beloved bogs or from those in Russia. Peat bogs are a truly precious natural habitat for many unique organisms - the destruction of Europe's peat bogs over the last century has destroyed so much biodiversity, it is incumbent on us in Ireland to preserve what's left of them.

Look for 'peat-free' on the bag when you're buying it - you'll see it on more and more bags.

Yes, ivy will grow well in a pot - the larger growing the variety of ivy, the larger the pot you need.