Mobility Aids for the elderly

shaking

My elderly grandmother has fallen a couple of times in the last few weeks and we want to get her a walker and have a few other things fitted around the house, rails etc. The district nurse has said that an occupational therapist looks after these things and has requested an appointment but they're very busy and it will be a while. My gran is 93 and I want to get things sorted as soon as possible, I've no problem paying for aids has anyone any ideas where I'd get such things and / or someone to fit them? I'm in Dublin the house is in Meath.

Also as she now needs someone with her 24/7 is my mum entitled to any allowances as she's living with her.

My elderly grandmother has fallen a couple of times in the last few weeks and we want to get her a walker .................

I'm no expert on these but my understanding is that there many different types of 'walker' for different conditions.
How is it decided which is appropriate for an individual ?
I dont know. If I were you I would seek advice on this.

and have a few other things fitted around the house, rails etc.

I have found a good selection of grab rails in woodies ( this was 5+ years ago so not sure about now ) They are easy enough to install so long as you can get a good fixing on the walls concerned.

Grab rails all seem to be white(ish). People with poor vision may find them hard to find if they are fixed to white walls / white tiles in bathrooms. I got around this by shrinking blue or red sleeving onto the white grab rail ( but I guess a lot of people wouldn't do this )

IIRC Fannins and a company called Dobbs ( I think ) supply into this market, doubtless there are others.

Does your grandmother use a shower ? if so has she got a ( plastic ) chair for it ?

Does she use a bath ? if so, how does she get in and out ? there are various devices available for this ( er, I could call them electric chairs for a bath but that might give the wrong idea )