Mobile phones as business tools; and when it goes wrong

Icarus

I have been using O2 for about 18 months. Last week a I rang a client and he said that he thought I'd gone out of business because he wasn't able to get me on my phone numbers (my office is usually redirected to my mobile). I was pretty shocked and rang some other people to find out if they ever had problems getting in touch with me. Apparently loads of them have; for the last 18 months. I couldn't beleive it! It's like having a secretary who doesn't pass on the calls.

I rang O2 to sort out the problem. After tests they reckon the issue is with my hand set and/or simcard. Both of which I bought off them. I'm absolutely livid and shudder to think how this may have affected my business. I've told them that if they don't give me my choice of free handset I'm going to Vodafone.

If I had the resources I'd consider looking for compensation. It's a pretty big deal and it goes to show just how reliant our businesses are on the compatency of others. Anyone had similar scares?

Re: Mobile phones as business tools; and when it goes wrong.

Icarus said:
If I had the resources I'd consider looking for compensation.
I'm pretty sure you'll find a clause somewhere in your small print about O2 not being responsible for any loss/damages incurred as a result of the service being unavailable/not functioning normally. In fairness, what's to prove the 'phone didn't become defective through some fault of your own? (not suggesting this is the case, but you see what I mean...)

By all means, you should threaten to move network if they don't offer you a 'goodwill gesture'.

DrMoriarty said: