Mobidoctor scripts no longer accepted in pharmacies?

Sarah Ryan

Has anybody encountered any issues filling scripts in their pharmacy that has been prescribed to them from Mobidoctor?

I have been using this service since the start of 2022, video consultation with script emailed to you and can be emailed to your chemist as well but NOT via the Healthmail system. Husband went to fill a script 2 weeks ago and the pharmacist said the legislation has changed and they can no longer be accepted (he was able to fill this one under the emergency rule but no further ones)

According to this link, the script from a doctor within the EU, in paper format with an electronic signature is valid.
https://www.citizensinformation.ie/...y in Ireland,certain information (see below).

Here are the updated guidelines from the pharmacy union, they were updated in January and previously it did say that paper scripts with electronic signatures would be valid. That is gone but these guidelines seem all very geared towards care received in Ireland not from a doctor based outside of Ireland but within the Eu under the Cross Border Directive.
https://www.thepsi.ie/gns/Pharmacy_Practice/Queries_and_FAQs/FAQsforPharmacistsDuringCOVID19.aspx

However point number 5 on this fac link states that the script should be valid.
https://www.thepsi.ie/gns/Pharmacy_Practice/Queries_and_FAQs/FAQs_for_the_public.aspx

I have asked my pharmacist to get clarity on this for me but just wondering if anybody else uses this service? There are Irish services that can be used but I do like brand loyalty and I find the doctors on this very good to deal with so just want to exhaust all avenues before I leave them.

They do not have plans to get on the Healthmail system that I am aware of, and emailed scripts need to come from Healthmail and not a corporate email address under the new National Electronic Prescription System. We do have a physical GP of course but that is reserved for more important face to face issues.