mentioning competitor's products on your website

KBR

Hi,
I am developing a new website, and a key feature my customers would like is to be able to look up a competitors brand or model number, and then see what we have to offer them that is similar.

I work in the construction industry & our customers are always looking for an alternative to the product specified by an architect or consulting engineer.

Do you think this is legal? Putting our competitors model numbers and brand names on our website and stating this is our equivalent of them?

I have seen it done in the USA, but have never seen it done here or in UK.

I would appreciate your opinions on this

It would be very hard to pin down the equivalency details of construction products. Nearly every item is slightly different from each other, so there will always be a point of argument.

If you looked at insulation only. In 150mm quilt, you could have glass fibre, sheepwool, non-itch manmades, different, lengths, densities and U-values to pick a few details.

Even blocks- different strength characteristics can exist from one manufacturer to another in the same class of block or brick.

As more and more tenders are being 'qualified' with alternative products to those specified, it would be a great resource - the service you're offering, but it would be a minefield. I'd say most 'other manufacturers' would challenge your equivalency criteria.

But a great idea - web searches for brand products would bring your website up front promoting the alternatives!

Sconhome,
You're obviously in a similar game to me. I'm trying to sit in my customers seat and see what they want when they log on to a website. If he is a buyer, he wants to find the products that is specified, but then wants immediately to find alternatives/equivalents.