M2 ICF & Rubber Slates for new build?

Tulach

Hi I have been reading this forum for a while and now that I have planning permission I thought I’d register. I’m hoping to build a 2,500sq ft L shaped Dormer, I’ll post plans up later if anyone is interested.

I work in IT but have a good range of experience in building trades from working with friends that are tradesmen and engineer’s. I have two area’s which I am currently researching, one been my main structure i.e. do I go with cavity block wall or ICF, I have seen a few ICF builds and the speed and strength of the build is very impressive, however to date I have had one major issue that is the external render, a leaf block is obviously the best solution but the cost is too much and it takes the speed of contruction back down to normal. So I have looked at the Acrylic plaster finishes which look good but are too expensive. So I then came across M2 Emmedue http://www.m2ireland.com/ which is a US technology which is now available in Ireland, the difference been their ICF blocks come with a steel mesh which allows for a spray on sand and cement finish I have seen sections of this at the RDS during the recent building expo and looked very good, I am waiting on a price from them and I was just wondering if anyone has used them or knows anyone who has?

The other area I’m looking at is Rubber slates which I saw recently on a house and swore were natural slates, they also come with a 50 year guarantee for colour and quality which is more than double that of Tegral Thrutone I have been looking at http://www.athyecoslate.com has anyone used them and anyone got an idea of price per slate?

Thanks​

Hi Tulach