Losing job, no savings, 3k credit card bill

U

Unmillion

I'll try to keep this simple. I found out a couple of days ago out of the blue that I'm being made redundant, and I've got my 2 weeks notice. I'm an IT contractor and I've looked into it and it seems I'm notentitled to any redundancy. This was very unexpected as my contract just got renewed a few months ago and was due to run until summer 2013.

My rent is 1200 eur per month
Internet 35 eur month
Sky 82 eur per month
VHI 65 eur per month

Gas & Electic can vary.

Savings: 0 euro
Credit Card Bill: 2900 euro

I worked out that with what I'm left to get paid, I'll have a total of about 5500 euro coming in over the next month.

As you can see, these numbers don't add up. I live in Dublin by myself renting and it's looking like I may have to pack up and move home to Northern Ireland. The dole down here won't cover my rent even with rent allowance.

I called my landlord a few hours after I found out I was being let go and they were very understanding and aren't holding me to needing to give a months notice. They said to wait a few days before deciding anything and if it helped, we could go to a weekly or 2 weekly rent payment.

I guess the thing I'm really worried about is the credit card bill. If I decided to move home to Northern Ireland and had no more rent to pay, I could easily clear it off and would have a couple of grand left over when I get back to the north. This would allow me to get back on my feet and pay a deposit and rent somewhere else whenever I get back to work. But having to pack up and move out of Dublin isn't a small task and I'm kind of settled and somewhat happy here.