Lidl Lawnmower

Cuppa

Anyone have any thoughts on the Floabest Lawnmower for 279.99

[broken link removed]

or can anyone recommend a good value lawn mower for an average size garden

Thanks

Hi,

Sorry I can't comment on the Lidl one but my tuppence worth is that I would prefer to buy something like a Mountfield with a Briggs and Stratten engine. I think something with a 3.5 horse power would be the norm.

I have a one pager from Homebase where they are having a 10% off day on Thursday, 5th April and this one might be worth considering although I have no knowledge of Sovereign brand. It apparently would work out at €221.40.

B&Q appear to have an offer starting on 30th March whereby 15% is allowed on Mountfield mowers. Their recent catalogue which mentions this 15% has totally different machines to their on-line ones!

If you run the search option in this forum only you will find many previous discussions on lawnmowers.

You could look for advice on [broken link removed].

If it's just an ordinary sized garden do you really need a petrol mower. As a former owner I can tell you that there are many disadvantages to having one.

Having to buy petrol and transport it home, running out of petrol, spilling it everywhere while filling the mower. sooted up plugs, annual servicing, having to use the choke, pulling the cord to start it, sometimes it doesn't start or keeps cuttting out, your back, the noise.

Buy an electric mower. Much more convienient and easier to use. Plug it in and away you go

Murt

Advantages to having a petrol lawnmower

You'll probably get the whole season out of E10 worth of petrol
makes much lighter work of cutting the lawn
no power cord to watch out for and you can stray away as much as you like.
No rolling up of power cord after you're done and no untangling of power cord the next time you have to cut the lawn
Maintenance is simple new air filter, drain old/dirty oil and refresh with new oil and finally a new spark plug its not that hard.