Key Post: ASAI complaints procedure

ClubMan

Anybody got any insight into the ASAI complaints process works (I've read what's on their website already). I made a complaint a couple of months ago and received an acknowledgement postcard with a reference number soon after. However when their most recent [broken link removed] was published there was no mention of my complaint. I've emailed them asking why this was so and what the status of my complaint is but they never bothered to reply. Seems like a waste of time to me. :rolleyes

Re: ASAI complaints procedure

Hi Clubman - I'm a veteran of this procedure. I aim to get one complaint in each of the bi-monthly (approx) complaints bulletins, but I missed my target this time round.

I have found varying timescales for processing of complaints. They seem to gather evidence from the advertising agency and/or the advertiser and they review this evidence before making their final decision. I've never had a case where they dropped or ignored a complaint (even if they do put hurdles in my way from time to time).

Seems to me that this whole scheme is fundamentally flawed in that, in many cases, by the time a decision is made - in particular where complaints are upheld - any "damage" caused by the advertisement in question has already been done. I accept that such complaints take time to be processed and everybody, including the advertiser, should be allowed time to respond but ultimately it seems like a bit of a waste of time in many cases (e.g. the high profile cases of certain drinks ads being deemed offensive and being pulled up to a year after they started airing).

By the way (and no offence intended Rainyday) by making my first complaint to the ASAI I think that I have made the first step to officially becoming a "grumpy old man"™! :lol

Welcome to the Victor Meldrew club, Clubman ;)

ASAI do have an option for more urgent action in [broken link removed], though I've never heard of them actually using it.