Jobs in Australia?

Pink

Thinking of heading to Australia in July for a year.

The plan is to travel for a couple of months and then try and find work.

I have my 1st year working holiday visa.

Does anyone know if there are actaully any jobs to be had over there. I've heard alot of stories that people are coming home as they cannot find work etc.
I work in retail at the moment .

Any one just back from Oz that could maybe give me some advice?

Cheers

Hey Pink!
im heading over myself next week for the year & i was thinking the same `coz the last few months all ive heard about is how theres no point going over, no jobs - people ringing into radio shows complaining couldnt afford to stay out there!
if you have your heart set on going and really want to stay out there guaranteed youd find a job, if its not in retail youl find bar work to get you through or fruit picking (just follow the seasons around) therel always be work..maybe not the preferrably work but once in a lifetime experiance and i think do it at least uve tried!!!

Hey Mrsc, Have heard similar stories. Hope we are right and will get some kind of job. Should be coming up to xmas when we'll be looking for work so should at least find some kind of job. Won't care as long as it pays the bills!

Thanks SLS too I've had a quick look at some of these sites and there "looks" like there are jobs to be had. Fingers crossed!

im soo excited ..i just went onto them sites aswell, thanks SLS!
all ive to do now is get up and go...same to you!!

I know a fair few people who have arrived there since Christmas.
Seems the ones who can get jobs easily are those looking for IT jobs. It seems to be the only sector to be still in demand. Most other sectors seem to be hit by the recession.