Job Sharing and effect on service

Portairne

Brendan,
Great threads and website, thank you.
I am a primary school teacher since 1994. I am currently job sharing with this been my 4th year. I have no other break in service. I am currently 47 years of age and also have an AVC pot of approx. 90K. I want to retire with full pension entitlements and want to make sure I am set up as such.
How do i calculate my service shortfall due to the job sharing?
Also should I use my AVC to buy notional service now or wait until just before retirement?
Finally would it be wise to pay into notional service now instead of AVC going forward?

I plan to job share for another 2 years at least.

Hope I am not going over old ground here as I am new to the site.

Really appreciate any info here.

I've heard that they will calculate the shortfall for you if you ring the department. It is probably a good time to ring them as they will have finished dealing with those retiring during the summer. There should be two options, I think, pay off a lump sum or pay it over the rest of your working life.

It's not a break in service by the way so it won't affect your pension in the way a break in service would.

if I job share for a total of 6 years which would mean I am short 3 years when it comes to calculating pensionable service, am i correct in saying I can teach for an additional 3 years beyond the 40 years to achieve the max benefits with regards my pension.

if I job share for a total of 6 years which would mean I am short 3 years when it comes to calculating pensionable service, am i correct in saying I can teach for an additional 3 years beyond the 40 years to achieve the max benefits with regards my pension.

Yes, you can make up pensionable service by continuing in post up as far as 70 - to a maximum of 40 years. https://assets.gov.ie/7409/f350799695c945979c672120f9dea552.pdf

How do i calculate my service shortfall due to the job sharing?