Items unacceptable as baggage on airplane

Sylvana

This is my first time flying with hand luggage. I was reading a bit about safety and such and I wonder what kind of safety razor am i allowed to take with me? I have this Gillette fusion razor, is it ok for me to take it with me or will security just throw it away? What about shaving cream? Can I buy it at the airport?

http://www.aerlingus.com/travelinformation/knowbeforeyoufly/baggageinformation/#d.en.1231

The above page has a link to the list of prohibited/restricted items

It says that safety razors (where the blade is in a cartridge) are okay for hand luggage.

It's not specifically listed, but shaving cream might be treated as a liquid, and therefore must be in a container of 100ml or less, and carried in a transparent plastic bag.

There are shops where you can buy toiletries after you've gone through security (in Dublin anyway). If you buy shaving cream because you can't bring your own through security, you may not be able to bring it back home again depending on the container size.

I'm flying from Stockholm to Vilnius. Not sure they sell those kind of things after security check.

And remember its not acceptable to have less than 100ml in a container that has a capacity greater than 100ml. I got caught out that way carrying a bottle of perfume that had about an inch of perfume left in the bottom of it - i.e less liquid than 100ml in bottle but bottle capacity of greater than 100ml. May be obvious but not to me at the time!

You're saying it's okay if I take perfume bottle less than 100ml? I have a bottle of perfume 30ml and it's impossible to open. I know some of my questions may seem stupid, but I need to be sure. Don't want to pay 50€ fee if something goes wrong

Once the bottles / containers themselves are 100ml or less - they are ok...

If you have, for example, 200ml bottle but with only a small bit of "liquid" in the actual bottle, it will be taken off you. Max size container - 100ml.