Italian Language course - Dublin

jdork

New Year's resolution to learn Italian. Primarily conversational.

Has anyone any experience with the following course providers-

Sandford Language Institute
Istituto Italiano di Cultura

Others?

Thanks,
John

Just after returning from Rome and have the same resolution as yourself but want to persue in the Cork/Limerick region if anyone knows of a good course?

Isn't it DrMoriarty who is our resident Italian speaker? Maybe he can help? Something I always intended to do myself but still haven't managed to get around to it... :(

Ciao Jdork!

A few years ago I studied with the Italian Cultural Institute. They were based in Fitzwilliam square though not Sandford, but it's probably the same company.

I found them excellent. That was mainly down to having an excellent teacher, and you could have a different experience, but after a year I was able to chat in Italian. I found the course books they used very clear and well laid out; the classes went at a good pace (not too fast or slow); the admin staff/teachers/director were very pleasant; class size was fine (about 15); amount of homework given was very do-able.

I recommend go for it! Think how good you'll feel this summer if you go to Italy and can order a bottle of Chianti in fluent-ish Italian!

Ragazza (which means 'girl' in Italian!).

Get you hands on the Michel Thomas italian language cds. You will have conversational italian after them without the use of pen and paper. I found them useful as a back up to my italian classes (where the teacher was useless) and would not have passed my exams without them.

ClubMan said:
Isn't it DrMoriarty who is our resident Italian speaker?
A bit rusty, I'm afraid — but grazie comunque..! :)