Irish Sole Trader operating from UK?

ButtermilkJa

I'm a registered Sole Trader here in Ireland and was thinking of heading to London to work. I'm a Graphic Designer and would like to keep working for some of my Irish clients while abroad as well as doing contract work in the UK.

Does anyone know how I would go about doing this? Do I just continue to operate as an Irish Sole Trader and charge VAT to my Irish customers and not charge English VAT to my UK customers? Or do i have to register in the UK as a Sole Trader as well? Are there any techicalities that would not allow me to operate as an Irish 'business' outside of Ireland?

Anyone else been in the same situation?

Thanks for the help :)

Just to update everyone (seeing as most people seem to be like me, and not sure about this subject), I've sent an email to the revenue so will post back with an answer as soon as I get one :)

You will be taking a major risk if you depend in any way on any "advice" Revenue give you in response to your query. They most certainly won't stand over this "advice" if the muck hits the fan later on. You should get appropriate professional tax advice in both jurisdictions.

You will be taking a major risk if you depend in any way on any "advice" Revenue give you in response to your query.

Even when you have it in writing/email!

I work on the principle of emailing three different areas and hoping to get the same answer from at least 2. Half the time they just respond ‘see form IT...’ which I already have and it does not answer the question.

Cheers folks, that's what I'm afraid of. I want to be absolutely positive of any consequences/responsibilities before I go and don't want to get stung by any nasty after effects.

Ubiquitous, are revenue really that unreliable? God I would've thought they would give you a clear answer.