Irish equivalent of the UK ISA

Higgsy

Hi,

Bit of a newbie question here.

I am an Irish Resident working in the UK (Northern Ireland). Colleagues who are resident in the UK use Cash and Stocks and Shares ISA which outside of a pension seem to be the most tax efficient way to save money for the future.

From what I can read Irish residents are at a disadvantage here as we cannot avail of an ISA or similar product, is there a particular reason why the Irish government has not introduced a similar scheme to the ISA?

Given the future and possible current state funding issues, would this not encourage Irish people to focus more on saving?

At the moment Irish people who have disposable income are saving huge amounts anyway, without any incentive from the government. If you're talking about the longer term, successive Irish governments have shown themselves to be utterly useless at thinking past the next election. The national pensions reserve fund was a good idea and got raided to fund shorter term needs. The State retirement age was due to be extended to 67 and 68 to help with a known demographic issue - ratio of retired people relative to people who are working is gradually sliding towards more retired people. This became an election issue and the government caved in favour of winning votes in the short term.

Just my opinions.

Hi Dave,

Fair comments and I agree with you. I am thinking more in terms of some form of wrapper which the UK ISA is to encourage Irish people to save for the future, may it be a deposit for a house, or indeed their retirement. The current CGT and tax rules on ETFs and stocks and shares seem very complicated to me which would put people like me off investing.

If inflation kicks in, those with money on deposit in their banks are going to lose money when they think they are saving.