Irish Banking Shares....

• Thread starter stevenjoyce
  • Start date
S

stevenjoyce

Hi,
I'm new to investing, well actually, I haven't started investing yet.

I'm looking for some advice on buying some shares in Irish banks, possibly AIB.

I have €25,000 savings, but do not want to invest it all, maybe €5,000. I have been doing some research on the internet regarding the risk of this and there are obviously two sides to the story.

I know the banking situation at the moment is a bit volotile and shares are always a risk.

I just want to know if I need to know alot more about what I'm getting myself into. I basicly know nothing about buying and selling shares.

If I go to a financial advicer and a stock broker will this be enough? Or do I need to know a little more?

leave your money on deposit until at least the end of '08.

When you do start investing, do so in monthly instalments.

One bit of advice never buy shares where the sellers are controlling the market. AIB looked cheap at 14, 10, 8, 6, 5 .... I'm not saying that AIB will keep going down but in a sellers market you could loose your money very quickly. If I were you I would get 6% interest in the bank, protect your money and when buyers are in control (prices start going up) then investigate it again.

why buy the banks direct - why not buy an ETF. Whoever your bank is - they should have an online share trading capability. No need to go to 19th century stockbrokers who are hardly independent advisors.

I echo the sentiment - don't buy at this stage, wait until q1 2009 at least when the banks start giving their 2008 results and let it all wash out.

Cheers to all that replied, I will take the coments into my final decision.

So, if I was to wait until it was a buyers market and the shares have started to gain strength again, maybe next month or maybe next year........Is it worth getting myself into the shares market if I do not know what I am doing???