iPod Virgin

Audrey

I know that there are various posts about which iPod is best, who sells the cheapest iPods etc etc. I am a complete novice when it comes to iPods - don't know for sure what they are. I initially thought that an iPod is something small that you can carry around with you, that you can download lots and lots and lots of tunes onto, and play them back to your hearts content. Having read an article in a weekend newspaper (by Roisin Ingle) it seems (yes/no?) that an iPod can actually replace, in the home, your stereo/DVD player, AND all your CDs. What she seems to be saying is that she bought this little iPod, which was sitting in a large speaker, and then recorded all the music she would ever want to hear onto it. This would seem to indicate that one could then throw out all ones CDs, saving lots of space and trouble. Is this right, or am I misinterpreting what she said? I have 2 CD players in the house (one upstairs and one downstairs) and millions of CDs. Would an iPod be the answer to my dreams? Is the sound good? Can I record from my CDs onto an iPod 'machine', as well as downloading music onto it? Any advice at all would be appreciated.

Being an iPod virgin is an enviable thing to be because you have something life-enhancing to look forward to. Everyone deserves to own an iPod. A little of how it works and what you would need. Yes, you'll be effectively doing away with the need for those boxes of CDs. I have three large document boxes full of hundreds of CDs but carry all of them around in my pocket. I have the 60 gigger iPod photo, which is the largest capacity model, but even with nearly 8000 tracks (remember that your average CD might have just 15 tracks) it actually has only used less than 25 gigs of space. The iPod photo, as the name implies, can also hold 15,000 photos.