investing in my girlfriends new business , What return should i be expecting?

J

johnoneill

Hello.
My girlfriend is opening up a small beauty business with forecast turnover of 65000 euro in the first year and 90000 in the second .I am giving her 6000 to start with ..What % of the business should i be getting and what return should i be expecting . Any useful info in starting a new business as this is my first time .
Thank you .

How much is she putting in to start up?

BTW, you will probably get a pile of smart answers on the possible non-financial returns you can expect!

There are too many imponderables to cover everything here - talk to your accountant.

Maybe perhaps a loan to the business, with a personal guarantee from your g-f might work best - then you can charge maybe slightly less than the banks and she can benefit by not having to pay you a huge % of her profits, which are likely to be minimal (if any) in the first few years.

Get it all in writing, backed up by a proper legal agreement whatever you do.

It sounds like there is no business plan in place and no agreement as to how the business is to be organised, funded and owned. I suggest you hold off making any commitments in relation to "giving" any money to your girlfriend until she seeks professional advice and comes back to you with proposals (supported by an appropriately detailed business plan).

Unless you know the funding requirements of the business over time and whether your 6,000 (or whatever number) purchases equity in the businees, is a personal loan to your girl-friend or a loan to the business, neither you nor she are going anywhere on a buinees front and this may result in damage to the personal relationship as well.

I think the whole idea as mooted in your post above is a very bad one and destined to fail.

Very sound advice which you would do well to listen to.