Invest or make pension contributions

WGT

Hi,
I'm an IT contractor with my own limited company. In general I have a surplus in my business account. A colleague of mine suggested that to avoid paying corporation tax, my company should make a lump sum pension contribuion, which makes sense. So my company this year paid 14, 000 into my employee pension.
However, my question is should I do this every year because the money is then tied up for the long term, albeit a very tax efficient approach.
Should I perhaps, withdraw the 14, 000 next year as salary and accept the inevitable income tax and make some medium term investments.
At the moment I have 10,000 invested in a GLOBAL REIT property fund, 10,000 invested in ISEQ 20 EFT and also have 2,000 invested in Quinn Life (with monthly contributions of 500 ongoing).
I also have a house valued at 365,000 with a mortgage of 140,000.
I am 34 years old and have just got married, so I've just wondering should I just take the obvious tax efficient option or is there any merit in investing for the medium term and incurring the income tax in the process.
Any suggestions welcome. Thanks.

Hi WGT

A very reasonable question!

I would suggest that you put away for the long-term what you can afford to put away for long-term, but note:

(1)If you are not a high rate tax payer, then pension contributions are not as vital for you as for a high rate taxpayer
(2)Of course, do not lock away more than you can afford in to pension - because it really is locked away! - make sure you have enough emergency funds in cash or 'near cash' should the need arise to access these

14000 is not a big pension contribution to make when you are self
employed
If you do not get some pension funds built up in your thirties you are under alot of pressure after that to be able to pump away the amounts needed
Also to take out excess cash when you have to pay tax on it at 41% and prsi 5% does not make sense

HI WGT,