Internet Security

Homer

I know this is covered piecemeal in other threads, but I would welcome advice on whether or not it is worth paying to renew my internet anti virus software.

I currently have Kaspersky anti virus and it is due to expire in just under 2 weeks. Is it worth renewing and, if so, where is the best place to buy it? (I imagine there are probably cheaper options than just paying full price for a straight renewal).

If not Kaspersky, what do people recommend? Or are there free packages out there (AVG?) that are just as good as the ones you have to pay for?

Thanks
Homer

I work in IT and reckon Microsoft Security Essentials is better than AVG now.
But these things can change over time.

Download MALWAREBYTES as a backup and run it every now and again.
MSE updates automatically but MALWAREBYTES needs to be updated manually.

I do this and have had no problems.

For personal users paying for internet security is not necessary and a waste of money.

If you use the freebies such as mentioned above coupled with your own common sense as to what sites you visit then you should have little or no probs.

Also do regular scans with malwarebytes/ccleaner's main scan + registry scan.

And a more detailed registry cleanup tool I use in addition to ccleaner's reg cleaner is Glary Utilities [broken link removed]

and it's simple to use, just scan>fix problems>done

+1 re above,
just ensure u only have one AV running so if u dont renew the current one make sure u clean it all off, this is a real problem with Norton.

Re MSE, for me it works good with malware and ccleaner as mentioned above, however be aware that, at least for me, every so often it checks to make sure the windows on the pc is legit and not bootleg/pirated/stolen

Thanks everyone for the replies.

How do I make sure I have fully deleted existing AV software? I keep getting messages from Norton every so often, even though I thought I had deleted it when I purchased Kaspersky.