Interfacing Irish bank account with Paypal ...

D

dbee

Declined a credit card ...

I've been living abroad for sometime now and I just came back to Ireland a few weeks ago. I make my living as a web developer. And it's very important to me that I can process payments online. To that end, I require an Irish credit card facility that I can pay money into. I don't need a line of credit, I only need a card that can work with online payment services like paypal.com and that kind of thing. I talked to AIB a when I came home first, and I asked them to active my old credit card. They said that they were unable to, and that I'd need to have been living in Ireland and paying a salary into my Irish bank account for 3-6 months before I'd be eligible to apply for a new credit card. Does anyone have any suggestions about what I could do in this regard ?

Re: Declined a credit card ...

Try applying for an MBNA card. They seem to be happy to give them away to anyone.

Apply for MBNA only if you are 100% you will not miss a payment as they are so quick to record it on the Irish Credit Bureau which will cause a lot more problems than not having a CC in the first instance.

OK thanks.

I've tried funding my paypal account directly from my bank account. Unfortunately though, according to paypal - Irish banks don't allow debit account/online interfacing like that. So no luck there I'm afraid.

I've applied for an MBNA card. They sound kinda scary. I'm wondering whether or not I can use it as a debit card ? So that I can pay in a lump sum, and thus never have to go into the red - so to speak ?

Also, what's the story with secured credit cards in Ireland ?

They are no secured credit cards in Ireland. :(

You can certainly use the MBNA card as a debit card if you preload it with cash. Just beware of running foul of their policies on missed payments etc.