Motor Insurance Renewal Increase of €600 !!..

Eamonn T

Hi,

Iv been insured with Aviva for a few years now and my policy is renewd every september, Lats year I paied € 684 for myself and the wife, I have over 11 years NCB and theres been no claims or accidents during the past year ect. Today I got my renewal from Aviva whic is quoted at €1347 for the same policy as last year !..

I think thats a crazy increase !.. whats worse is this, I went onto the Aviva website and entered all my details in the online new policy quote form every detail exactly the same as they are on my current pollicy, The quote I got was for € 701.42 !!..

Seems like a bit of attempt to decieve customers or somthing to me where the assume the policy holder will simply pay the amount quoted on the renewal without checking out other options ect !..
My father inLaw had the same thing happen him back in June with a different company !..

This happen to anyone else??

I worked in insurance broking a fair few years ago. There was a time when rates were set and the premium for renewal was what you got if you came to us as a new customer. But competition and some very strange business practices left rates negotiable, not strictly based on underwriting criteria and would vary between new and existing customers, and even then sometimes be negotiable.

I think this is crazy. Rates should be based on underwriting experience and nothing else. The insurance industry is deeply flawed when it engages in this practice. It compares with the airline industry selling tickets based on demand and a profit motive.

You should always shop around for insurance every year, and be quite prepared to haggle. If you get a better price go with the company that offers the best price and don't forget the cover and benefits. If you like the benefits you have with the existing company, call them and ask them to match the best price you got.

Last edited: