Info required re clutch repair?

niceoneted

Hi all,
I have an opel astra 1999 almost 175k on the clock.Had a service about 2 k back and has just passed the NCT with flying colours, and appeared to be running great until yesterday.
It's just not now running smothly. I can feel some vibration coming from the clutch and the gear stick. I'm no mechanic but I have a feeling it's the clutch that's going/gone.
I had a great mechanic that has moved away recently but have gotten a number for another reputable one (I hope).
Query is does anyone know if this is big job and approx how much will it cost. I will be asking him for a full quote as I always do but won't get to talk to him until tomorrow.
I know there is a few fairly good mechanics/car enthusiasts on here so any help would be appreciated and of course if you think it something other than the clutch feel free to inform me.

Does the clutch drag/slip?

Might be an engine mounting? 175k is a lot of leg btw

Thanks RS2K
No doesn't seem to drag/slip. I just thought with the vibration coming back through the clutch and gear stick that the clutch must be the problem.
Head gasket has been re done, timing belt isn't due to be changed and it's just had a full service as I said about 2 k back.
Would love to just get another 10/12 months out of it before I change it. I have it since nearly new - ex demo with 10k on it when I bought it at 8 mts old.
Thanks any one else any ideas, costs?

Thanks again RS2K,
just as an update gear stick got stuck in reverse twice today. Engine turns over perfectly and there just seems to be a slight grinding noise from the engine especially in the lower gears. Got the no of 3 mechanics today.2 were out of the country. Will try the other first thing in the morning.
Thanks again, Much appreciated.

Re: Info required re Gear Box/Clutch Repair?

Yes was at the garage this morning and he said it was the gear box that needed replacing. ( I wasn't far off for an amatuer)