Independent Financial Advice?

Missie

Hello There,

I am hoping to taske a career break from work soon and become a stay at home mum.
I've been working for about 15 years, have 2 different company pensions, an investment property and a bit of cash in various policies

I would really like some advice about what to do with my pensions, and how to optimise my other investments. I have contacted a few advisers, but they turn out to be brokers and try to sell me other policies.

Is there such thing as independent advice - I don't mind paying a consultant?

Any recommendations would be great.

Thanks

Missie
x

Is there such thing as independent advice - I don't mind paying a consultant?
Yes - authorised advisor or a good multi-agency intermediary. Avoid tied agents unless you know what you want to buy from them in advance. IFSRA can give you a list of registered intermediaries but you will probably want to choose one based on recommendations. Some of the AA/MAI discount brokers who contribute to this site also offer advisory services so might be worth trying.

Hi

CCOVICH - I'm based in Dublin

Clubman, Thanks I'll check out the IFSRA list

Missie
x

There is not alot of choice for what you can do with your pension ,you generally leave it in your old companys scheme unless you join another scheme in the future and want to transfer it to that scheme. This is ok as it will be invested and will be growing in value hopefully

I think people should have more confidence in making their own decisions re their investments rather than relying on an advisor,especially small investors.
People know if they put money in a bank account it is safe and they get x% interest,but they want more than that but are afraid of risk. So generally what they want is an advisor to tell them they are making the right investment decision and it is safe and will make good returns,whereas no advisor can do that if you are investing in the stock market