income protection insurance

elainem

I am paying €184.50 per month for income protection insurance through Friends Frist. This amount is to cover my salary of €3,000 per rmonth. Apparently, as I am a psychiatric nurse and not a general nurse, the policy is more expensive. However, now I am going part-time and my salary will only be €1,650 per month. I will hopefully be part-time for the next few years as I have two young children 4 and 6. I have no mortgage, no car loan, two investment properties and money in the bank from a house sale. My question is should I continue paying this insurance? Is it worth keeping it just in case. Presumably the company would only pay out my current salary of €1,650 per month. Would I find it difficult to get such insurance again - I'm 42. Any advice greatly appreciated.

Hi Elainem,

I am very familar with this product. Ideally you should contact a independent advisor on this. But one thing to note is you can only claim on 75% of your salary so if your salary will be halved over the coming years at that point you should reduce the benefit covered in line with your revised salary. Friendsfirst would then reduce the benefit and advise of a reduced premium due.. Personally I think its one of the best products someone could have.. seemingly 1 in 6 of us wil be out of work for more than a year so its good to know this product would cover the daily expenses you currently have on a daily basis.. So my answer is hold onto if you can....

Thanks for the advice, think I will definitely hold on to the policy. As far as I understand there is also tax relief on it. I've only had it since last year so haven't claimed this yet. The income protection policy doesn't kick in until after a year, as the health service pays full pay for six months and half pay for six months, and at the time it also made the policy a little more affordable. Thanks again.

Hi Elainem
I think your tax relief should have been deducted at source already.
Nicola