I want a 7 year mortgage term, Broker says Avant wants 15 year term

kodirl

Hi folks,

I am in the process of switching mortgage from UB to Avant.

House Value €395k
Loan amount required from Avant €157k
Currently repaying €920/month with UB though I have been overpaying this by €500/month for the past 8 months (€1,420)

I have received Acceptance In Principle from Avant based on a 15yr term @1.95% for loan of €157k.

However, I queried our broker as I would prefer to do a fixed 7year rate and pay the mortgage off in that time. The broker has come back with the following:

"In order to reduce to 7 years the bank would need to see your monthly mortgage repayments along with an additional savings of 1,000 a month for 6 months. I have just had another look at your statements and cannot see a build of savings at that level over the last 6 months."

Is the above correct, as in I cannot change to 7years fixed even though I have savings of approx €20k and have been overpaying mortgage by €500/month?

Fix for 7 years of a 15 yr mortgage?

Or apply for a 7yr mortgage?

If the latter, that looks like repaying 157k over 7 years, meaning 1869 per month excluding interest.

You currently pay 920+500 = 1420.

You are requesting to repay 1869 + interest.

I can see why the bank are wondering can you afford that.

If it was a 7year mortgage the repayments would be €1,999.84 per month , including interest . That's an increase of €580 per month on current payments which we can afford as we will have one child finishing in childcare in July releasing approximately an additional 800euro per month also.

I was just wondering if the broker was suiting themselves with the statement above ( they are probably getting some fee from Avant , probably based on the longer the loan and higher the value?) or whether it was actually the mortgage provider behind it.

Last edited:
I am sure that the broker is telling you the truth.