i have an idea for a new product on the market, what do i do next?

J

jimmyb

folks, i have an idea for a new product on the market, it is quite simple but innovative, i have no experience in business, all i have at the moment is an idea, i dont know how to go about making a prototype of the product or anything about getting it produced and all from there on, could anyone tell me what i need to do to proceed????

jimmyb, you have a lot of work to do.
You probably need to get a prototype made to show it to your target market;you need to do market research;you may need to obtain a patent or a trade mark;you will obviously need finance but probably initially you need to approach some of the statutory bodies and small business development bodies to try obtain a grant to carry out your market research to see is it viable.

Each county has a county enterprise board and various other agencies can assist too but initially you need some sort of market research and plan to be taken seriously.

Last edited:
If you feel your idea is brand new to the market, or an element of the technology is new, you may consider a patent application. However, be warned to go through the full Patent process can be be very very expensive. Further to that you need to have the financial resources availabe to defend your patent in court if you feel someone has breached it.

At the very least at this stage you get people to sign an NDA (Non Disclosure Agreement) before disclosing further information about your idea.

I have been involved in sucessfully bringing 2 businesses to life from scratch with a 3rd on the way. One of these companies has a product with a Patent, and was funded by Enterprise Ireland HPSU Funding.

I can send you a standard NDA agreement if you PM me.

D

Last edited: