How to let off steam when you can't post in that area.

MACTHEKNIFE

I've been using AAM for about 3 years now and have found it excellent. The look and feel of the new tool is good but from a user functionality perspective it can be infuriating.

The rules about who can add and who can post to certain topics don't make sense....... I can't post to LOS for example but I don't qualify under the no. of posting rule etc. I did a search for something innocuous today but am not allowed to go into a link.... what the hell is going on? Is there a new policy to restrict accessability to a golden circle?

My own view is that AAM used to be about people just being able to ask any obscure question and teh community would help out with the effect of overall enhancing everybodys knowledge of financial and non-financial matters. For one I would have recommended the site to literally hundreds of people on that basis. If we now have a situation where even registered users who have been part of the community for a decent period of time can't access a number of areas this in my view is a serious deterioration and a major turn off.

Maybe the restrictions could be reviewed by the mods taking into account the views of the punters who don't necessarily have all the access that the mods have?

MAC

Hi MAC - Due to overtrolling by a lot of new users etc we had to restrict the LOS forum to people who had some contribution to the site. I accept the point that your post count is down due to the changeover but unfortunately in order to stop wasting mods time this was the compromise.
My own view is that AAM used to be about people just being able to ask any obscure question and the community would help out with the effect of overall enhancing everybodys knowledge of financial and non-financial matters.
This kinda answers your question really as this is ultimately the aim of the site. LOS was for useful contributers to do just that - Let off steam.

elcato said: