How to calculate your profit / loss of Shares

strat_640

Hi all,

I am new to this game and am just trying to clarify (settle the voices in my head) a few things. I have recently opened a sharewatch account; I know but said I would give them a go! I have yet to invest any money but have a small amount (~2.5K). The way I see it is:

1. Buy shares @ (for arguments €1.00) in "X"
=> 2500 shares in "X"
=> Pay fee at .3% (€7.50)
=> Do you also pay 1% gov tax on the €2500??

2. Share price for "X" goes to (fingers crossed but again hypothetical) €1.50
=> 2500 shares at €1.50 = €3750
=> Pay fee at .3% (€11.25)
=> Pay 1% tax (€37.50)
=> Cost of deal (fee + tax) = €48.75

Deal worth
=> €3750 (selling price) - €2500 (initial investment) - €48.75 (Fee) = €1201.25 (33% profit!)

Again, values are fanciful but if you could have a look at the above and tell me if I am missing something I would really appreciate it!

Strat_640

Sorry, the 1201.25 net should also be reduced by €7.50 for the inital fee for buying! Just noticed it there!

If you're buying Irish shares the 1% stamp duty only applies to the purchase of the shares.

Cheers, was not sure about that, how does the rest look. Am I on the money (so to speak!).

Cheers, was not sure about that, how does the rest look. Am I on the money (so to speak!).

I would calculate as follows:

Outlay : 2500x1x1.01 + 2500x.003 = €2532.5

Proceeds: 2500x1.5 - 3750x.003 = €3738.75

Profit : €3738.75 - €2532.5 = €1206.25

Ok, but just looking at that, I am guessing that the profit that you show should not include the .3% fee? Anyway, i appreciate the reply, think I have a handle on what the process is and have done up a handy Excel package for calculating profit/loss.

Happy Trading!

Ok, but just looking at that, I am guessing that the profit that you show should not include the .3% fee? Anyway, i appreciate the reply, think I have a handle on what the process is and have done up a handy Excel package for calculating profit/loss.