How much to spend on your first car?

Guelder

Hi guys!

I've been learning to drive for the past 3 months now and I've just applied for a Driving Test, so hoping that I pass, if and when I do I'll be looking for a car of my own.

Up until now I've been practising on my parents cars, both big 2.0 Diesels.

Now I know for most people the school of thought is to get something cheap (less than a grand?) that way you won't mind as much if you scratch it badly etc...

However the thing is I'm big on safety and would really feel safe at all in a 15yr micra or similar. I want something newish with a good NCAP rating, lots of airbags etc...

At the moment I'm looking at the Fiat Grande Puntos (Never in my life thought I'd like a punto, I hated the old ones, however I've taken a real shine to the Grandes and they have a full 5* NCAP rating)

Would it be madness to fork out around 7k for your first car?

I have money saved so I wouldn't need to get out a loan.

Just wondering what sort of budget people had for their first car?

Thanks all.

I had the choice of a brand new small car, or a big old one.

When I saw a car skidding on ice towards me, I knew I'd be ok (I'd picked the big old one - also handy for golf clubs) ... ...

Would it be madness to fork out around 7k for your first car?

Personally, I think so yes.

If safety is your main concern, plenty of cars have a good rating.

The last Almera for instance was a segment leader when it came out - beating Volvo etc.

Setanta12 - I actually have the option aswell of using a 10 year old car - it's a big one aswell, really nice and comfy however it's a 2.0 diesel. Originally I was gonna go with this as the car drives like a dream, there's nothing wrong with it, however when it comes to insurance and road tax I'd be paying through the nose for it!